Oddział Polskiej Akademii Nauk w Poznaniu

Presidium of the Polish Academy of Sciences – Poznań Branch

Term 2019-2022

President of the Poznań Branch of the PAS - Prof. Dr. Hab. Marek Świtoński

Professor Marek Świtoński is a head (1989) of Department of Genetics and Animal Science at Poznan Uviversity of Life Sciences. He is a specialist in the field of animal genetics and is mainly interested in genetic background of hereditary diseases. He is editor-in-chief of Journal of Applied Genetics (Nature-Springer) and associate editor of Scientific Reports (Nature-Springer) and Gene (Elsevier). His scientific achievements were awarded four times by the Ministry of Sciences and Higher Education (1988, 1997, 2001 and 2010). In 2000 was a laurate of Master program of the Foundation for Polish Science. Under his supervision 26 young scientists received PhD degree.

Vice-President of the Poznań Branch of the PAS - Prof. Dr. Hab. Jerzy S. Kaczorowski

Jerzy Kaczorowski is a mathematician working in the field of analytic number theory. He is an author of over 100 research papers published in leading scientific journals including Annals of Mathematics, Acta Mathematica and Inventiones Mathematicae. He is a full member of the Polish Academy of Sciences and the Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science of the Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań. Moreover, he is the Editor-in-Chief of Acta Arithmetica and Functiones et Approximatio, Commentarii Mathematici. The Polish Mathematical Society and the University of Warsaw awarded (Kaczorowski the Sierpiński Medal 2012). In 2001 he received the prize of the Prime Minister of Poland for his achievements in mathematics.  

Prof. Dr. Hab. Eng. Hanna Bogucka - Member of the Presidium of the Poznań Branch of PAS

Hanna Bogucka is a full professor and the Wireless Communications Department Head at Poznan University of Technology. Prof. Bogucka is involved in the research in the area of radio communication. She is teh author of 180 research papers, 3 handbooks in the area of radio communications and digital signal processing (in Polish) and 3 scientific monographs on flexible and cognitive radio. 

Prof. Bogucka has been appointed IEEE Communications Society Director of the EAME Region (Europe, Africa, Middle East) and elected IEEE Radio Communications Committee Chair for the term of 2015-2016. Currently, she is the membere of IEEE Awards Board, Executive Editor of Wiley Transactions on Emerging Telecommunications Technologies and the member of the Polish Academy of Sciences.


Prof. Dr. Hab. Jerzy M. Brzeziński - Member of the Presidium of the Poznań Branch of PAS
Prof. Dr. Hab. Jacek Oleksyn - Member of the Presidium of the Poznań Branch of PAS

Professor, Institute of Dendrology, Polish Academy of Sciences, Kórnik (Poland), 2002 -, Member of the Polish Academy of Sciences since 2007. Director of the Institutin 2011-2019. Senior Fulbright Scholar, Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research, University of Arizona, Tucson (USA), 1988-1989. Visiting Scientist, School of Natural Resources, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA 1989-1991. Research Associate and a Graduate Faculty Member of Forestry, University of Minnesota, Collage of Biology and Environmental Protection, Silesian University, Katowice (Poland). Dr. hab. Forestry (1994) College of Forestry, Agricultural University, Poznań, Poland. MS in Forestry (1976) Department of General Ecology, Anatomy and Physiology of Plants, Forest-Technical University, St. Petersburg (Leningrad) Russia. Major in ecophysiology.

Prof. Dr Hab. Eng. Roman Słowiński - Member of the Presidium of the Poznań Branch of PAS

Roman Słowiński is a Professor and Founding Chair of the Laboratory of Intelligent Decision Support Systems at Poznań University of Technology, Poland. He is Vice President of the Polish Academy of Sciences and chairman of the Committee on Informatics of the Academy. Member of Academia Europea and Fellow of IEEE, IRSS, and INFORMS. In his research, he combines Operational Research and Artificial Intelligence for Decision Aiding. Recipient of the EURO Gold Medal by the European Association of Operational Research Societies (1991), and Doctor HC of Polytechnic Faculty of Mons (Belgium, 2000), University Paris Dauphine (France, 2001), and Technical University of Crete (Greece, 2008). In 2005 he received the Annual Prize of the Foundation for Polish Science – the highest scientific honor awarded in Poland. Since 1999, he is the principal editor of the European Journal of Operational Research (Elsevier), a premier journal in Operational Research. 

Scroll to top
Zmień rozmiar czcionki